Christoph Martin Wieland

Christoph Martin Wieland (1733-1813) was the most famous and best-paid German author of his age for quite a long time. Wieland’s works were translated into 13 languages in his lifetime. He was an important protagonist of the Enlightenment and he also paved the way for German Classicism in literature. Wieland was also an important translator: He translated 22 plays of Shakespeare into German. That was the beginning of the popularisation of Shakespeare’s work in the German-speaking countries.

Wieland was born and raised near Biberach – a small town in central southern Germany. Already at an early age he was fluent in German diction and foreign languages. He went to a well-respected convent school nearby Magdeburg. At the age of 15, he began studying philosophy in Erfurt and later studied law at the University of Tübingen. But he did not finish his academic studies, but instead started writing. In 1750 he went to Switzerland where he stayed for 10 years and lived as a writer. Wieland returned to Biberach in 1760 and worked in an important position at the city council. During these years in Biberach he wrote the first German educational novel Die Geschichte des Agathon (The history of Agathon) and a number of significant works that brought him international renown.

In 1769 Wieland became professor of philosophy in Erfurt. In 1772 he went to Weimar where he educated Prince Karl August, son of the Duchess Anna Amalia. During this time Wieland published a journal that not only had the largest numbers of issues but also lasted longer than any other journal in Germany in the 18th century. Among other things, Wieland’s reputation was a factor in helping attract the other most famous writers of the »Weimar Classicism« Goethe, Schiller and Herder to Weimar as well. Wieland died aged 79 in Weimar-Oßmannstedt 20. of January 1813.  

Christoph Martin Wieland, Oil painting
Georg Oswald May, 1779 Wieland Archive

Wieland-Archiv Biberach,
Christoph Martin
Wieland-Stiftung Biberach
Haus der Archive
Waldseer Straße 31
88400 Biberach
Call +49 (0)7351-51-161
wieland-museum@biberach-riss.de

Wieland-Museum 
Saudengasse 10/1
88400 Biberach an der Riß

Opening times:
April to November
Wednesday to Sunday
14.00 - 17.00

Registration information

Christoph Martin Wieland

Christoph Martin Wieland (1733-1813) war für eine Zeit lang der meistgelesene und bestbezahlte Autor. Seine Werke wurden bereits zu seinen Lebzeiten in 13 Sprachen übersetzt. Er war ein bedeutender Protagonist der Aufklärung und ebnete gleichzeitig den Weg für die deutsche Klassik in der Literatur. Wieland war auch ein wichtiger Übersetzer: Er übertrug 22 Shakespeare-Dramen erstmals ins Deutsche. Mit Wieland begann die deutsche Shakespeare-Faszination.

Wieland wurde in Oberholzheim geboren und wuchs in Biberach auf – eine Kleinstadt in Süddeutschland. Bereits in jungem Alter zeigte sich sein Sprachtalent; auch in Fremdsprachen. Er ging mit 14 Jahren auf ein renommiertes Internat in der Nähe von Magdeburg (Klosterbergen). Mit 15 begann er, Philosophie in Erfurt zu studieren und wechselte anschließend auf Jura in Tübingen. Allerdings beendete er sein Studium nicht, sondern startete seine Schriftstellerkarriere. 1750 ging er dafür in die Schweiz zu Johann Jakob Bodmer. 1760 kam er nach Biberach zurück und arbeite in einer gehobenen Position in der Stadtverwaltung. Während seiner Zeit in Biberach verfasste er den ersten deutschen Bildungsroman Die Geschichte des Agathon (1766) sowie viele weitere Werke, die ihm weltweiten Ruhm einbrachten.

1769 wurde Wieland zum Professor der Philosophie in Erfurt berufen. 1772 ging er schließlich als Prinzenerzieher an den Weimarer Hof, um dort Prinz Karl August zu unterrichten. Während seiner Weimarer Zeit publizierte Wieland die langlebigste und auflagenstärkste deutsche Zeitschrift des 18. Jahrhunderts: Den Teutschen Merkur. Unter anderem durch Wielands Reputation und seinen Einsatz kamen auch Goethe, Schiller und Herder nach Weimar und bildeten gemeinsam das »Viergestirn der Weimarer Klassik«. Wieland starb im Alter von 79 Jahren am 20. Januar 1813 in Weimar-Oßmannstedt.  

Christoph Martin Wieland, Ölgemälde
Georg Oswald May, 1779 Wieland Archiv

Wieland-Archiv Biberach,
Christoph Martin
Wieland-Stiftung Biberach
Haus der Archive
Waldseer Straße 31
88400 Biberach
Telefon 07351 51-161
wieland-museum@biberach-riss.de

Öffnungszeiten:
nach vorheriger Anmeldung

Wieland-Museum Biberach,
Wieland-Gartenhaus
Saudengasse 10/1
88400 Biberach an der Riß
Telefon 07351 51-336

Öffnungszeiten:
April bis November
Mittwoch, Donnerstag,
Freitag, Samstag und
Sonntag von 14 bis 17 Uhr

Impressum

Datenschutz